‘Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Riccardo Muti’

11 Jan.'24
- 20:00

Glass: New Piece - Mendelssohn 4 & Prokofiev 5

Since 1971, and the first European tour of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the concerts of the famous American orchestra have been exceptional events. Recognised as one of the top five orchestras in the world by the English magazine Gramophone, the orchestra has been conducted by the greatest musicians, including Ravel, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov! In early 2024, it is making a stopover in Brussels under the direction of its principal conductor, Riccardo Muti, in a programme kept secret by the maestro. After the Belgian premiere of Philip Glass' The Triumph of the Octagon, Riccardo Muti evokes his native Italy with Mendelssohn's Italian Symphony. The second half of the concert is devoted to Prokofiev's monumental Symphony No. 5, about which the composer said that he “wanted to glorify the human soul” after the Second World War.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti
Philip Glass

The Triumph of the Octagon (european premiere)

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

Symphony no. 4, op. 90, "Italian"

Sergey Prokofiev

Symphony no. 5, op. 100

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS



34 - 72 - 98 - 134 -

< 30 year

17 - 36 - 49 - 67 -

Listening seats

20 -

Card : Preferential Reimbursement / EU Disability

17 - 36 - 49 - 67 -