‘Daniel Müller-Schott’

29 Mar.'22
- 20:00

Johan Sebastian Bach's Six Cello Suites are among the most impressive pieces ever written for this string instrument. In each of these suites, Bach manages to suggest a polyphony in the unison writing of the cello that never ceases to amaze. Daniel Müller-Schott is unanimously praised for his engaging Bach interpretations and will perform the first and last sonatas in the intimate setting of the Brussels Conservatory. To this he links the Cello Sonata by Zoltán Kodály. In this lyrical composition, he implements a few folk melodies from his homeland Hungary, which makes it sound very rhythmic and dance-like at times. The German cellist will have to go to extremes, because according to him, a performance of this work is like climbing Mount Everest...  ​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​This concert is part of 'Classical Music for Ukraine', an event taking place from 25 to 29 March in various cities across the country with the aim of collecting money for the Ukrainian people. The revenue of the concert will go to Ukraine 12-12.

Daniel Müller-Schott
Johann Sebastian Bach

Suite for cello no. 1, BWV 1007

Zoltán Kodály

Sonata for cello, op. 8

Hans Werner Henze


Johann Sebastian Bach

Suite für Cello Nr. 6, BWV 1012

Practical information


Royal Brussels Conservatory

Rue de la Régence 30 1000 Brussels



20 -


10 -