‘Lachrimae or Seven Tears’

20 Nov.'20
- 20:00

Hathor Consort & Femke Gyselinck

This event can not take place due to the latest restrictions regarding COVID-19. If you have already purchased a ticket for the event, you can find all necessary information here​​​​​​​

Lachrimæ, or, Seaven Teares figured in Seaven Passionate Pavans is the title of a collection of consort music published by John Dowland in 1604. The Englishman spins a wondrous web of thematic and harmonic connections through seven pavanes. At the request of the Hathor Consort, the celebrated Belgian composer Annelies van Parys has written a number of interludes.  These Interludes are an exceptionally successful contemporary rejoinder to Dowland’s melancholy polyphonies. Femke Gyselinck adds a sixth layer to the mysterious, five-part gloominess with her captivating choreography.  

Romina Lischka
artistic direction, viola da gamba
Femke Gyselinck
choreography, dance
John Dowland

Lachrimae or Seven Tears

Annelies Van Parys

6 Interludes for 5 gambas and lute


REMA European Summit for Early Music

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS


In the framework of

  • REMA, European Early Music Summit