Belgian National Orchestra

‘Prokofiev Revisited’

15 Jan.'22
- 14:00

Due to security measures taken to prevent the spread of coronavirus this event will not take place.
You can request a refund or a Bozar credit using this form.


Russian composer Sergey Prokofiev wrote a most impressive symphonic score for his ballet Romeo and Juliet. Indeed, some parts, such as the famous Dance of the Knights, were later used as film scores. Under the direction of conductor Hugh Wolff, the Belgian National Orchestra will perform a selection of major highlights from this legendary work.
The young playwright from Ghent, Mats Vandroogenbroeck, takes charge of the staging of this concert, working closely with an actress and a video artist. What can the story of Romeo and Juliet still tell us today? Does love still work in the same way in the digital age? To what extent are online experiences truly authentic?
In the months leading up to the concert, we will organise a series of workshops in schools. During these workshops, young people will delve into these questions and try to find some answers. The resulting materials – short texts, drawings and even digital avatars – will eventually be integrated into the performance, in a unique interpretation of Shakespeare’s classic, for and with young people!

Belgian National Orchestra
Hugh Wolff
Mats Vandroogenbroeck
Patricia Kargbo
Anton Cla

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS


With the Kids and Teens



14 -


10 -