Ars Musica

‘Kronos Quartet’

13 Nov.'19
- 20:00

The Kronos Quartet is a living legend when it comes to the string quartet. Its recordings of works of the pillars of minimalism, such as Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Philip Glass and Arvo Pärt, are nothing short of mythical. As Ars Musica’s guest of honour on the occasion of the 30 years of the festival, the Californian quadriga invites you to discover works that have been newly written and arranged for it by Riley and Glass, amongst others. The Quartet also interprets Steve Reich’s Different Trains, an illustrious work for string quartet and magnetic tape that they were the first to record on disc. This work, which is part way between a sound documentary and an instrumental work creates a powerful parallel between testimonies of American commuters in the 1940s and survivors of the Holocaust trains.

Konono No. 1

Kule Kule (arr. Jherek Bischoff)

Philip Glass

Quartet Satz

Nicole Lizée

Another Living Soul

Misato Mochizuki


Terry Riley

The Electron Cyclotron Frequency Parlour (Sun Rings)

Missy Mazzoli

Enthusiasm Strategies

Michael Gordon

Clouded Yellow


The House of the Rising Sun (arr. Jacob Garchik)

Stacy Garrop

IV. Sometime I feel like a motherless child (Glorious Mahalia)

John Coltrane

Alabama (arr. Jacob Garchik)

Steve Reich

Different Trains

George Gershwin

Summertime (Porgy & Bess)

Ervin T. Rouse

Orange Blossom Special



Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS

Sound level

Level 2 ≤ 95 db